Duskin Leadership Training for Promising PWD youth

August 27, 2011

The Japan Society for Rehabilitation of Persons with Disabilities (JSPRD) is calling for applications to a 10-month training opportunity for young people with disabilities in the Asia Pacific Region for the year 2012-2013. This program is designed for persons with disabilities in the Region who have potential to become leaders in their communities.

To help achieve their goals, this program provides an opportunity for participants to learn about welfare measures, policies and services for persons with disabilities in Japan, and thus improve their knowledge and skills on similar concerns relevant to their own countries. It is sponsored by the Duskin AINOWA Foundation as one of the projects commemorating the Asian and Pacific Decade of Disabled Persons (1993-2002). Applications will be accepted until October 31, 2011.

Application Forms must to Be Submitted to: Secretariat of Duskin Leadership Training in Japan c/o Japanese Society for Rehabilitation of Persons with Disabilities (JSRPD) 1-22-1 Toyama, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 162-0052, Japan E-mail: duskin_training@dinf.ne.jp Please see annexes for the training guidelines and application form or visit http://www.normanet.ne.jp/~duskin/english/index.html to know more.

Application form

Guidelines to The 14th Duskin Leadership Training in Japan

Possibly Related Posts:

Announcement of Qualified Applicants Applying for the AFS KL-YES Scholarship

August 17, 2011

The National Council on Disability Affairs is pleased to announce the qualified applicants who will be invited to the Final Screening for the American Field Service KL-YES Scholarship Program on August 23, 2011 at 9AM to be held at the Board Room of the NCDA Building, Isidora St. Brgy Holy Spirit Quezon City, Philippines.

The qualified applicants for the AFS KL-YES Program are:

1.       Michael Gess A. Abrenica Jr.          Philippine School for the Deaf

2.       Mari Beatrix D. Domingo                  Quirino High School

3.       Mary Ann M. Tiama                           Quirino High School

4.       Jomarie P. Canares                          Philippine National School for the Blind

5.       Rocel G. Sison                                   Philippine National School for the Blind

6.       Veronica Mae M. Del Rosario         Manila High School

7.       Aeron Pornela  Gonowon                Manila High School

8.       Enri Rose D. Parole                          Manila High School

9.       Jene Boy De Culing                            Isabela School for the Deaf

The whole day Screening will be held in 3 parts; 1.) Briefing on the Program and Mechanics 2.) Individual Interview, and 3.) Group Discussion.

The applicants are requested to contact the NCDA office at tel no. 9516129 and look for Mr. Reggie Tolentino or Ms. Precious Horvidalla to confirm their attendance to the said screening and receive further instructions.

Possibly Related Posts:

Successful Inaugural IDPP Residency Period Comes to a Close

August 12, 2011

The Institute on Disability and Public Policy (IDPP)’s first residency period welcoming the incoming student cohort who will earn a Master’s of International Affairs in Comparative and International Disability Policy (CIDP) at American University’s School of International Service (AU SIS) ended on a high note last Friday, July 29. “This has been a fantastic two weeks,” stated Ambassador Luis Gallegos, Chairman of the Global UN Partnership for Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies; Chairman of the Global Universal Design Commission; former Ambassador of Ecuador to the United States; and an IDPP adjunct faculty member at AU SIS’ International Communication Program, who will teach a fall CIDP course on the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. “I have very much enjoyed learning from and with you during this residency period, and I look forward to our journey together,” the Ambassador told CIDP students during his closing ceremony address.

Possibly Related Posts:


August 11, 2011






Amb. Cristina C. Ponce-Enrile, Committee Chairperson of the 2011 Mabini Awards, a biennial program of the Philippine Foundation for the Rehabilitation of the Disabled (PFRD) that seeks to honor persons with disabilities (PWDs) who have excelled in their chosen careers as well as individuals, groups and entities that have contributed much to the welfare of disabled individuals, recently announced the winners of the 26th Apolinario Mabini Awards.


The much-coveted MABINI Presidential Award is given to Sister Ma.Paula Valeriana Baerts, ICM for her 59 years’ pioneering work to help disabled Filipinos. Two Special Mabini Awards had also been handed: Lauro C. Purcil in recognition of PWD-rights based advocacy & strong working role with the UNCRPD; and, Capt. Oscar P. Taleon (PN, Ret.) for exemplary leadership in PWD sector unification & ability to elicit cooperation from other advocates.


Awards conferred in other categories are: Rehabilitation Volunteer: Rizal C. Morales (Government) & John K. Chua (Private); Employer: Dept. of Foreign Affairs (Government), Shangri-la Makati (Private), Special Award – Mann Hann; Disabled Group: Makati Federation of Persons with Disabilities; Media Advocate: Special Award – Access Unlimited; Local Government Unit: Province of Aurora (Provincial), Municipality of Mariveles, Bataan (Municipal), Special Awards – Municipality of New Lucena, Iloilo & Municipality of  Opol, Misamis Oriental; and for Disabled Filipino of the Year:  David Casper Nathan A. Sergio.


For the Disabled-Friendly Establishment Award, three benchmarks had been established: 1st, for the GOLD category: SM Tarlac; 2nd, SILVER category: JP Morgan Chase Bldg., SM Calamba, SM North EDSA Annex, SM San Pablo, SM Marikina, SM Novaliches, SM Rosario, and, Ayala Cebu Mall; and 3rd the BRONZE category: SM Bacoor, SM Baliuag, SM Batangas, SM Bicutan, SM Cebu Annex, SM Fairview, SM Iloilo, SM Lucena, SM Megamall, Sm Muntinlupa, SM Naga, SM Pampanga, SM Pasig, SM Rosales, SM Sucat, SM Valenzuela, SM North EDSA (InterZone, Sky Garden, The Block), SM Cagayan de Oro, Taal Vista Lodge, Ayala Marque Mall, Ayala Serendra, Ayala Techno Hub, Ayala The Link, and, Citibank Makati; Special ‘Mapagmahal sa May Kapansanan’ Awards: Mall of Asia; SM Program on Disability Affairs and Citibank.


This year’s Awards Committee Members are: Congw. Lani M. Revilla, Atty. Louise A. Marcos, Mayor Ma. Laarni L. Cayetano, Audrey Kay Tan Zubiri, Cynthia A. Villar, Kate H. Gordon, Milagros G. Drilon, Zeny R. Tanada. The Screening Committee was chaired by Arch. Jaime Silva with members Erlinda Koe, Dr. Therese Bustos, Joy Garcia, Nelia de Jesus and Randy Weisser.

2011 Mabini Awardees


Possibly Related Posts: